

Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics Political Action Committee 2014 Public Policy Leadership Award (PPLA)

Please complete this form legibly. All information must be completed for consideration. A

cover letter and any supporting documentation should must be received by Friday, December 13, 2013.	1
Date:	
NOMINATOR:	
Name:	Academy Member #:
Position if applicable (e.g. Affiliate President, PPC, SPR): _	
Phone/Fax/Email:	
Address:	
NOMINEE FOR PPLA:	
Name:	
Mark one: U.S. Senate U.S. Hous	se of Representatives
State/District:	

General Criteria:

Points are assigned based on the criteria below:

- The nominee must be a member of the U.S. Senate or U.S. House of Representatives
- Must have exhibited support at the federal level for efforts to change/improve/strengthen public policy particularly in, but not limited to the areas of nutrition, food, health care and public health and/or be in a position (i.e., committee assignment or leadership) to have an impact on policy issues of key importance to the Academy and its members.
 - Such issues include: aging/older Americans, child nutrition, food and food safety, health literacy and nutrition advancement, Medical Nutrition Therapy, nutrition research and monitoring, and/or obesity/overweight/healthy weight management.
- The Member of Congress and staff must be accessible to the Academy members and staff, both in Washington and in the local area.
- ANDPAC support for the candidate. (See www.adapac.org or call 800/877-1600)
- Note: Any member of Congress who has received this award in the last five years is ineligible for it. Please refer to list at the end of this form of past winners.

Academy, willing	ademy issues (e.g. sponsorship or co-sponsorship of a bill supported by the gness to advance Academy issues at the Committee level or sending letters of all agencies on behalf of the Academy) Please document nominee's activities in
_	Nominee or staff to Academy members and staff. (e.g. meetings at Public or with Academy staff. Responsiveness to the Academy member inquiries and cacy efforts)
Other relevant	activities or information
	pinion, does this member of Congress deserve to be recognized at this time y? What distinguishes him/her from other supportive Members?

(fill in name of nominee)

Award application must be received no later than Friday, December 13, 2013. Award applications may be sent by email to tnece@eatright.org.

Questions should be directed to Teresa Nece at 800/877-0877 ext. 6022.

Past award recipients

2013

Rep. Jim McGovern (D-MA)

2012

Rep. Rosa DeLauro (D-CT)

Rep. Shelia Jackson Lee (D-TX)

Sen. Al Franken (D-MN)

Sen. Debbie Stabenow (D-MI)

2011

Rep. Danny Davis (D-IL)

2010

Rep. Bruce Braley (D-IA)

2009

Sen. Max Baucus (D-MT)

2008

Sen. Sherrod Brown (D-OH)

2007

Sen. Ted Kennedy (D-MA)

2006

Sen. Dick Durbin (D-IL)

2005

Rep. Xavier Becerra (D-CA)

Sen. Thad Cochran (R-MS)

2004

Rep. George Miller (D-CA)

Rep. Billy Tauzin (R-LA)

2003

Sen. Tom Harkin (D-IA)

Rep. Nita Lowey (D-NY)

2002

Rep. J.D. Hayworth (R-AZ)

2001

Sen. James Jeffords (I-VT)

Rep. Anna Eshoo (D-CA)

2000

Sen. Charles Grassley (R-IA)

Rep. Sherrod Brown (D-OH)

Rep. Karen Thurman (D-FL)

Rep. Fred Upton (R-MI)

1999

Sen. Thomas Daschle (D-SD)

1998

Sen. Larry Craig (R-ID)

Rep. John Ensign (R-NV)

Rep. Nancy Johnson (R-CT)

1997

Sen. Jeff Bingaman (D-NM)

1996

Sen. Richard Lugar (R-IN)

Rep. Michael Bilirakis (R-FL)

Rep. Jose Serrano (D-NY)

1995

Sen. Patrick Leahy (D-VT)